A580 porting - minor progress - General Discussion and Assistance - CHDK Forum supplierdeeply

A580 porting - minor progress

• 125 Replies

Offline ag8

A580 porting - minor progress
« on: 07 / January / 2009, 04:50:03 »
Advertisements
Hello,

I have an A580-100c and interested in porting CHDK.
I have little asm experience, and would appriciate any advice you can give.

This is what I've got so far:
1. setup a build environment (on linux)
2. got the firmware from http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/A580
3. created 'A580' platform+loader sub-trees based on A590 (which I think is the closest model).

Some results:
I followed the instructions from http://chdk.setepontos.com/index.php/topic,1132.msg10255.html#msg10255 including removal of card while camera is on - the camera resumed normal operation.

Un-commented the debug-led blinking in loader/a580/resetcode/main.c:
The led indeed blinks.

The MEMIOSSTART value is probably 0xA47E0,
Based on the instructions here:
http://chdk.setepontos.com/index.php/topic,1132.msg10317.html#msg10317
The value 0xA47E0 is found at offset 0x12378 in the PRIMARY.BIN file.

Added led-blinking code to platform/a580/sub/100c/boot.c in boot():
No blink. camera hangs.

-----------------

So I'm guessing the boot loader works, but not much else.

I'd appriciate any pointers / suggestions on how to continue.

Offline reyalp

Re: A580 porting - minor progress
« Reply #1 on: 07 / January / 2009, 14:51:59 »
Hello,

I have an A580-100c and interested in porting CHDK.
I have little asm experience, and would appriciate any advice you can give.

This is what I've got so far:
1. setup a build environment (on linux)
2. got the firmware from http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/A580
3. created 'A580' platform+loader sub-trees based on A590 (which I think is the closest model).